CALIFORNIA SEARCH DAY 1: CHELSEA KING — I’M LIVE ON THE SCENE

SUNDAY FEB 28TH 6:23 A.M. (pacific time)

I arrived late last might into San Diego (10:30 p.m. pacific time) after a long day of travel. I am here to cover the cases of the missing McStay family and a missing female jogger.

The jogger is 17 year old Chelsea King, of Poway, CA, in San Diego County. She disappeared after parking her BMW sedan outside Rancho Bernardo Community Center on Thursday afternoon, and when she was late coming home her parents called police.

Although she is an avid long-distance runner and routinely takes long runs in rural areas, she ignored warnings her coach isued to the entire track team to not run alone in light of an attack on another female jogger earlier this week. Police are tight lipped about a connection between the two cases. The first woman got away, after punching the assailant and leaving him with a bloody nose. I could not get details when I asked if they had obtained DNA from the earlier attack, or if the woman had a given police a solid description. I will have more on this as the day progresses.

Chelsea’s parents, Brent and Kelly King, have set up a command post; the Chelsea King Search Center office at 11858 Bernardo Plaza. Hopefully the heavy rains will let up today. I will be blogging live from the scene all day.

Deputies asked anyone with information on the girl’s whereabouts to call the San Diego County Sheriff’s Ddepartment at (858) 565-5200.

6 thoughts on “CALIFORNIA SEARCH DAY 1: CHELSEA KING — I’M LIVE ON THE SCENE

  1. I was extremely saddened when I listened to the news this afternoon. My sympathy goes out to the family. This is very disheartening as I have two children of my own, I can not fathom what the family and community must be going through. Everyone’s hearts and prayers are with you.

  2. Isn’t it a fact that her coach didn’t warn her, because her coach actually didn’t know about the other assault? And had she actually known about and warned her, it’s highly unlikely that she would have gone running alone?

Leave a Reply

