GIRLS GONE WILD CEO JOE FRANCIS STRIKES PLEA DEAL

I met Joe a few years back. I interviewed him in jail. He credits that interview as instrumental in exposing the conspiracy against him, and his eventual release and vindication. I now consider Joe a friend. Regardless of what you think about what Joe does for a living, he is a great person. He’s the guy you’d call in the middle of the night if your life was falling apart and he’d help. He would do anything to help anyone; as I would. Perhaps that why we always end up in trouble. Perhaps that’s why we’re friends. As I make my way on this journey I’ve learned one very important lesson from Joe; the bigger you get the harder they hit. He taught me to toughen up, buckle up and get ready for more. Now it’s my turn to remind him.

Girls Gone Wild CEO Joe Francis agreed today to plead guilty to two misdemeanors and agreed to pay back taxes of $249,705 to end his criminal tax case with the government.         

Following the hearing today before the Honorable S. James Otero, Joe Francis released the following statement.  “I am grateful that Judge Otero accepted my plea today.  I’m very pleased, if the Judge accepts our agreement with the government, all felony tax charges will be dismissed and I will not spend any more time in jail.  I look forward to the complete resolution of this matter on November 6, 2009.  Demand for the Girls Gone Wild brand has grown tremendously in the past 12 years and we have a lot of work to do to accommodate that demand.  I’m happy to finally be able to redirect my attention to the business at hand, which is to provide quality entertainment for our millions of fans around the world.  I want to thank Brad Brian, Greg Weingart, Susan Nash and the lawyers at Munger, Tolles & Olson LLC in Los Angeles, and David Houston in Reno.  The one thing I’ve learned about myself during this process is that I can be a difficult client, but they are a fantastic group of brilliant legal minds who recognized the truth when they saw it and had the passion to care about what happened to me. “

Leave a Reply

